Skip to main content

A Brief Introduction to the Library's Resources and Services: How To Search Collections and Use WEB OPAC?

Your ultimate guide to services and resources offered by AGBU Papazian Library at AUA

How do I?

EOS WEB-OPAC Discovery 

Allows you to search the library catalog for books, serials and CDs by keywords, title, author, subject etc.

Simple search - allows searching by keyword(s) or a phrase.

Browse search -allows searching by main title, subjects, all authors, etc.

Advanced search - allows searching one or more fields simultaneously using AND, OR, or AND NOT boolean operators between searches.

Icon search - allows performing a simple search by Author, Title, Subject, or all three fields using appropriate icons.

Keywords or phrases may also be searched.

Check the video tutorial and PDF document below to get started using library OPAC (Open Public Access Catalog):

The books in AGBU Papazian Library are categorized according to Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) System, which means each book has a call number attached on its spine, that indicates its subject area and location in the library.

 

  • The books with call number range  (000-327.1) are located in the 1st reading room, while books with call number range (327.1 - 999) are shelved in the 2nd reading room. Each shelf in the library has yellow tags on its sides showing the call number range of the books it contains.

  • The Reference materials (call number starting with R) are for library use only, and are located in the Reference shelves at the entrance of the 1st reading room.

  • Fiction books (call number Fic), and periodicals (with an S preceding its call number), are located on the lower level.

  • The library collection contains some CDs too, which are numbered and shelved in the 1st reading room. Please, contact the circulation desk for them.

Note, that there are 4 separate collections in the library as follows:

  • World Bank Public Information Center: Green shelves at the end of the 1st reading room.
  • United Nations Corner: In the 1st reading room.
  • Richard Hovhanisian's Collection: Behind the 7th study room in the 2nd reading room.
  • Vartan Gregorian's Collection: At the far end of the 2nd reading room.

In addition to non circulating textbooks and reserve materials located behind the circulation desk.

So, remember to pay attention to the item's location and status in the catalog, and do not hesitate to ask for help at the circulation desk.

 

Want to learn more about Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system? Check the presentation PDF below:

 

To Renew Your Checkouts:

  1. Go to  My Account > “My Checkouts”.
  2. Select the checkouts you wish to renew.
  3. Click on the “Renew” button.
  4. A notification box should appear saying “X item(s) renewed”.
  5. Note and remember the new due dates of your checkouts.
  6. Sign out.

Important Notice: If there is hold placed on your checkout, you may not be able to renew it.

Check the PDF instructions below or contact Librarian for more help.

To Place Hold on Item:

  1. Find the item in the Library Catalog
  2. Click on the hold icon which appears on the left.
  3. Enter User ID and Password
  4. Select a due date from Cancelation date drop down menu.
  5. Click on the “Hold” button.
  6. A message should appear saying “You are in position X on this hold list”.
  7. Go to My Account
  8. Click on Sign out on the right

You will be notified by phone or email when the book becomes available.

Check the PDF instructions below or contact the Librarian for more help.

AGBU Papazian Library at AUA provides access to a vast collection of e-books, articles, reports and even images through electronic databases covering different subject areas. 

You can find the list of these databases in our A-Z list .

To find an electronic material, access and search the most relevant database (you can use the subject filter in A-Z list when accessing in campus, or select your subject area from Database by Subject when accessing off-campus). 

 

  • Note that some databases are open access  which means they are available for all users without subscription.
  • Other databases are available only through valid subscription, and you may access them via AUA  only (in campus or via off-campus access). And some require additional username and password to provide access  (contact the Librarian for help).
  • Some databases offer user guides, click on the  icon to access the guide.

 

Tip: Some multidisciplinary databases are good place to start your search, such as:

 

 

For more information and tips about searching e-resources, approach the librarians at the circulation desk or contact the Librarian 

AUA research and student theses are stored in AUA Digital Repository

You can browse and search these theses by "Issue Date", "Author", "Title", "Subjects" or "Programs", but in order to access the full text you may have to login using your AUA login credentials. 

Remember that the authors retain all rights with copyright. (To learn more about copyright check our tutorial in Research Help guide).

 

What is WorldCat Discovery? And why to use it?

WorldCat Discovery is a discovery tool that enables you to search the physical and electronic collections of the library, as well as AMICAL and worldwide libraries for books, e-books, journals, articles and more in one step.

How to use WorldCat Discovery?

The basic search in the internal WorldCat Discovery home page is "keyword" search. Just enter your keywords in the search box and press enter.

You can also process an advanced search to search collections by Title, Author, ISBN, ISSN, Subject etc.

You can refine your search results by selecting or deselecting the filters on the left side of the screen.

 

Note: To access an electronic resource from WorldCat Discovery, you will have to login via off-campus access, which will take you to the library's e-Resources guide page. Just click on the resource link in WorldCat again and you'll be directed to it at once.

Loading ...