What is copyright?
Copyright is the exclusive moral non-economic and exclusive economic rights of the author to his work.
Copyright allows authors and creators to protect their original works (i.e. literary, musical and artistic works, cinematograph films, sound recordings, published editions and computer programs). This includes the right –
• To reproduce the work in any manner or form;
• To publish the work;
• To perform the work in public;
• To broadcast the work;
• To make an adaptation of a work;
The legal field of intellectual property is regulated by laws, legal acts and international agreements of Armenia, which are periodically reviewed, amended and changed since 1993:
The Law of the Republic of Armenia on Copyright and Related Rights adopted by the National Assembly of RA in 2006, June 15..
International Treaties and Conventions:
The Republic of Armenia is a member of:
• Berne Convention for the Protection of Literary and Artistic Works since October19, 2000
• World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) since 1993
• World Trade Organization (WTO) -since 2003
• Paris Convention for the Protection of Industrial Property -since December 25, 1991
• WIPO Copyright Treaty -since March 6, 2005
• WIPO Performances and Phonograms Treaty - since March 6, 2005
• Protocol Relating to the Madrid Agreement Concerning the International Registration of Marks - since October 19, 2000
• Patent Law Treaty - since September 17, 2013
Materials developed by EIFL-IP
EIFL Handbook on Copyright and Related Issues - is a practical guide to topical legal questions affecting the information work of libraries in the fast moving digital environment. Complete handbook available in: Arabic |Armenian | English | French | Moldovan | Polish | Russian
EIFL-IP Draft Law on Copyright Including Model Exceptions and Limitations for Libraries and Consumers - is a practical guide to assist librarians, as well as their legal advisors and policy makers, when national laws are being updated.
Developing a Library Copyright Policy. An EIFL Guide is a guide intended to highlight issues when considering the creation of a copyright policy for your library, how to go about drafting a policy and the elements that a library copyright policy might contain. Complete text avaialabel in Armenian | English
Statement of Principles on Copyright Exceptions and Limitations for Libraries and Archives (2009) by Electronic Information for Libraries, IFLA, and Library Copyright Alliance Complete text available in Armenian
"Copyright for Librarians" (CFL) is an online open curriculum on copyright law that was developed jointly with Harvard’s Berkman Center for Internet and Society.
Armenian Copyright Agencies/Organizations:
Knyazyan & Partners is an IP law firm focusing on the practice of intellectual property law in Armenia.
Why the concern about copyright?
• The University policy ensures that we respect the rights of the authors and publishers, and advocate for balance between the rights of copyright owners and users of copyright materials.
• Copyright infringement could result in legal action and possible awards of damages.
• The viability of local publishers depends on compliance with the copyright law.
Without prior permission you may not:
• Copy a whole book or journal issue/volume, or large portions thereof (This includes out of print works).
• Make multiple copies for others (unless the material is in the public domain, i.e. the copyright term has expired) or copying is specifically permitted;
• Create or replace or substitute anthologies, compilations or collective works;
• Scan, digitize, adapt, translate or modify other people’s works;
• Make copies of images, videos, films, CDs DVDs or multimedia for purposes other than fair dealing;
• Download or cut and paste large sections, or use lengthy quotations from others’ works;
• Include others’ copyrighted works in electronic theses/dissertations, in a publication or on a website.
Are there exceptions for educational purposes?
Yes, there are. Without the consent of the author and without remuneration but with obligatory mention of the author’s name and the source of the work (e.g. proper citation), and without profit making the following shall be permitted:
• The reproduction of a lawfully published work by the libraries and archives, educational and cultural institutions for the purpose of restoring and substituting the lost or damaged copies (in one copy);
• The reproduction (in one copy) of independent articles, succinct works lawfully published in collections, newspapers and other periodical publications, and of short extracts from lawfully published written works by the libraries and archives (on the demand of natural persons) for the study and research purposes, as well as by the educational institutions for the classroom studies, except computer programs;
• The reproduction (in one copy) of the whole book if such work is out of print not less than 2 years