Materials developed by EIFL-IP
EIFL Handbook on Copyright and Related Issues - is a practical guide to topical legal questions affecting the information work of libraries in the fast moving digital environment. Complete handbook available in: Arabic | Armenian | English | French | Moldovan | Polish | Russian
EIFL-IP Draft Law on Copyright Including Model Exceptions and Limitations for Libraries and Consumers - is a practical guide to assist librarians, as well as their legal advisors and policy makers, when national laws are being updated.
Developing a Library Copyright Policy. An EIFL Guide is a guide intended to highlight issues when considering the creation of a copyright policy for your library, how to go about drafting a policy and the elements that a library copyright policy might contain. Complete text avaialable in Armenian | English
Statement of Principles on Copyright Exceptions and Limitations for Libraries and Archives (2009) by Electronic Information for Libraries, IFLA, and Library Copyright Alliance Complete text available in Armenian | English
"Copyright for Librarians" (CFL) is an online open curriculum on copyright law that was developed jointly with Harvard’s Berkman Center for Internet and Society.
The Marrakesh Treaty: An EIFL Guide for Librarians- provides an introduction to the Marrakesh Treaty for persons with print disabilities, its key provisions and recommendations for national implementation in order to maximize the opportunities it offers to libraries to increase the reading materials available to persons with print disabilities.
Marrakesh Treaty to Facilitate Access to Published Works for Persons Who Are Blind, Visually Impaired or Otherwise Print Disabled - contains a set of mandatory limitations and exceptions for the benefit of the blind, visually impaired, and otherwise print disabled (VIPs).
Can Libraries in Armenia use the Marrakesh Treaty? Yes!- Why libraries in Armenia can use the Marrakesh Treaty for persons with print disabilities without changes to national copyright law
NEW! EIFL Guide on Rights Retention and Secondary Publishing Rights - this new guide aims to raise awareness of Rights Retention and Secondary Publishing Rights in EIFL partner countries. Jointly produced by the EIFL programmes on Open Access and Copyright and Libraries, the guide sets out the key issues, how researchers can benefit, and how libraries can support their researchers in the process. The guide also includes a list of useful resources for those seeking further information.
Open Access
Information is a critical resource for personal, economic and social development. Libraries and archives are the primary access point to information for individuals and communities with much of the information protected by copyright or licence terms. In this complex legal environment, librarians and information professionals operate at the fulcrum of copyright’s balance, ensuring understanding of and compliance with copyright legislation and enabling access to knowledge in the pursuit of research, education and innovation. This book, produced on behalf of the IFLA Copyright and other Legal Matters (CLM) Advisory Committee, provides basic and advanced information about copyright, outlines limitations and exceptions, discusses communicating with users and highlights emerging copyright issues. The chapters note the significance of the topic; describe salient points of the law and legal concepts; present selected comparisons of approaches around the world; highlight opportunities for reform and advocacy; and help libraries and librarians find their way through the copyright maze.
